Logo UNESCO Biosphärenreservat

Map and zoning

Core zone, buffer zone and development zone

To be recognized by UNESCO as a biosphere reserve, it is obligatory to have a three-part zoning with graded intensity of use and different functions. Thus, the Biosphere Region Berchtesgadener Land is divided into a core zone, buffer or maintenance zone and a development zone. The core zone lies entirely within the Berchtesgaden National Park, which includes in particular the high mountain regions in the south of the area. The buffer zone consists of the maintenance zone of the national park and two nature reserves. The largest area is covered by the development zone on the remaining area of the district. In this zone a sustainable coexistence of man and nature is to be created.


Core zone

In the core zone, nature should be allowed to develop as untouched by man as possible. No hunting, agriculture, forestry or other uses of land are carried out here: Natural habitats as well as species of animals and plants are to be preserved and allowed to develop naturally. Natural, dynamic processes can take place across a large area. The core zone of the Biosphere Region is at the same time the core zone of the Berchtesgaden National Park. It is characterized by species-rich forest communities, mountain pine scrub, alpine grasslands and natural biotopes of the rocky regions as well as diverse bodies of water. With the exception of recreational and outdoor activities as well as training and rescue operations, the core zone is free of human utilization.

Buffer Zone

The core zone is surrounded by a buffer zone – in Germany also called maintenance zone – which protects the core zone from negative influences. The buffer zone aims to protect biodiversity. In the Berchtesgadener Land Biosphere Region, it consists of the maintenance zone of the National Park, the nature reserve “Aschau” and parts of the nature reserve “Eastern Chiemgau Alps”. Contrary to the core zone, adapted land use is not only permitted in this zone, but explicitly desired to preserve typical regional cultural landscapes. Besides forest areas, the buffer zone is characterized by numerous alpine pastures with many species of plants and animals characteristic for this habitat.
Blick über die Kührointalm zum Watzmannmassiv
Luftaufnahme der Stadt Laufen mit Salzachschleife

Development zone

The development zone covers the rest of the district and takes up the largest area of the Biosphere Region. It focuses on sustainable development – which gives the area its name – and thus on people and their activities. The development zone explicitly includes areas used for agriculture and forestry, settlements, commercial areas and transportation infrastructures. The biosphere status does not impose any restrictions, so generally all forms of land use are permitted. The focus, however, is on the development of sustainable ways of living and doing business that bring people and nature into harmony. The quality and viability of the Berchtesgadener Land should be preserved for the present and future generations.

The three zones of the Berchtesgadener Land Biosphere Region

The Biosphere Region Berchtesgadener Land covers 840 km2. It encloses the entire district from the pre-Alpine north to the Alpine south. Like every UNESCO biosphere reserve, the Berchtesgadener Land Biosphere Region is divided into three zones with different intensity of use and different functions: The development zone, the maintenance or buffer zone and the core zone. The core zone of the Biosphere is identical to the core zone of the Berchtesgaden National Park without any form of human use. In the maintenance zone, adapted land use is permitted in order to preserve the typical cultural landscape. In the development zone, which covers the largest area of the Biosphere Region, the goal is to develop a sustainable coexistence of man and nature.

Karte mit Zonierung der Biosphärenregion
Logo Biosphärenregion Berchtesgadener Land mit Verlinkung zur Startseite

Haben Sie Fragen? Kontaktieren Sie uns gerne!